Review: The Silver Star

silver starTitle: The Silver Star
Author: Jeanette Walls
Release Date: June 11, 2013
Pages: 288

First Line: “My sister saved my life when I was just a baby.”

“‘Bean’ Holladay is twelve and her sister, Liz, is fifteen when their artistic mother, Charlotte, a woman who ‘found something wrong with every place she ever lived,’ takes off to find herself, leaving her girls enough money to last a month or two. When Bean returns from school one day and sees a police car outside the house, she and Liz decide to take the bus to Virginia, where their Uncle Tinsley lives in the decaying mansion that’s been in Charlotte’s family for generations.” – from Goodreads

My thoughts: This book was a quick and easy read, though it did deal with some uncomfortable situations as Jeannette Walls’s books always do. I did like Bean’s character, but I grew more and more disappointed with Liz. Not that Liz needed to be more mature because she was still a child as well, but Liz took care of Bean without complaint at the beginning of the book so I thought that would continue throughout the story. Instead Bean ended up taking care of Liz, even before the trauma Liz had to go through. It was just kind of a weird change of characters I guess, but I still enjoyed the story. I just wish we got a little more out of the other characters. I think they all could have had more to say, including the girls’ uncle and Bean’s cousin and aunt.

My Ratings:
Writing: 3/5
Characters: 2/5
Subject: 3/5
Originality:3/5
Kept me interested: 3/5
Overall rating: 3/5

About nezbots

I'm cool.

Posted on July 18, 2013, in Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

